Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Young people today have no influence on the important decisions that determine the future of society as a whole. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

People all say that young people are the future of human society. It seems like those carefree, green and sometimes confused young people who are struggling with finding their own niche in this world now can ever have some weight over the important decisions that directs all human beings. However, the plain fact is older adults are controlling this world and shaping the future because they are more experienced and responsible.

Young people can hardly take responsibility of themselves, then how can they be responsible for the human beings? However, it is the most crucial feature about young people that make them this way. Because they are young. So even if they made mistakes with serious consequences, they would still have time and energy to fix it. Like youngsters waste their body on junk foods, snacks and all kinds of alcohols and they stay up late for clubbing and parting with no worries on heart attacks just because they are young. They can undo the damages later in their life. This kind of carefree spirit can spread out in every aspect in their life from their career choice --- they can always switch to another track if they find the current job hateful, to wrong doings conducted to others --- they can always get the forgiveness because they are young and immature. However, people who are in the middle age, they don’t have this excuse to protect them any more. They brood and consider all factors before deciding. They have already experienced that people will eat up the consequences of their decision, so they will be more cautious and careful.

Additionally, young people’s major focus is on themselves because they need to find out their own identities and carve out a niche for themselves. Some people need a few years, some people need a decade. But If they can hardly figure out what they are going to become in the future, how can we believe that they will every influence the future human destiny? The early stage of adulthood is rife with confusion and conflicts. The young adult just came out of their parent’s protection and start to face the brutal world that feeding them with unfairness, unevenness, discrimination, emptiness and anxiety. It will take them some time to be fully aware of the imperfectness of human society and know what they can do about it. On the contrast, older grown-ups know the practical means that could be taken to make this world a better place for the next generation. After years of exploring themselves and the society, they can better identify the social problems and source the people and fund needed to resolve it. Solving real problems would definitely be counted as changing the future human society.

In sum, the older adults are taking the steer of humanity. The plain fact is no country would ever give their citizen’s livelihood to a youngster. Because young adults are not mature and experienced enough to take responsibilities or thinking for others.