In some organizations, promotions are based on seniority, while in other organizations, promotions are based on promotion. Discuss the advantage of each position. Then indicate which position do you think is best and why?

Nowadays, when it comes to employee promotion, most of the Boards of

Management generally will consider two factors: seniority and performance.

There are organisations favoring seniority and some others prefering

performance. There are good explanation for that fact.

Seniority does not only show your experience, loyalty but also your capacity

and competencies. To be able to be at where you are, you certainly went

through ups and downs, which forms your experience and competencies to

deliver good jobs later on when you get promoted. To give the promotion to

someone senior, the leaders of the organisation knew that the candidate would

do a great job. That means they are choosing the safe option.

Performance, on the other hand, shows your adaptive ability and the generousity

as well as the chance that the company offers you. It always takes time to learn

and to be senior, so it would be unfair to those who's excellent but still young.

At the end of the day, what matters is whether we have accomplished our

missions or not. It doesn't relate to how many years of experience or how high

your position is. Giving chances to those who performs well get you the results

you want, and also may save the cost hiring someone with more experience.

In Vietnam, where the scale of at least 70% of the organisations and enterprises

remains at small & medium, I think it would be better to give promotion

opportunities based on the candidate's way of performing their jobs. Besides,

with the new generation of the labour force, the milenniums, the time bonding

to a company would be less than 3-5 years according to researches in Training

Magazine. So milenmiums may not spend a life time just in one company, they

develop their hard & soft skills in their career path along different positions in

different companies. Therefore, this generation may result in not being in high

positions but still doing such great job.