In some organizations, promotions are based on seniority, while in other organizations, promotions are based on promotion. Discuss the advantage of each position. Then indicate which position do you think is best and why?

Big and small companies constantly are searching the best way to keep their workers satisfied and happy. In order to do this, they have to give their workers a promotion. So they have to see wich is the best way to do it. Furthermore, companies have to choose who deserves a promotion and who doesn't. The adventages to give a promotion to someone who is a senior in the company are many. But there are also a lot of benefits to give a promotion based on the worker's performance. I will meniton some of this in the following essay.

In first place, a person that has worked many years in a company will know all the procedures and processes. He or she will have a lot of experience, not only professionally, but also he or she will know the people inside the company. On the other hand, a worker that has a good performance will allways bring good results to the company, no matter how long she or he had worked in the organization.

Secondly, another advantage to promote a senior would be the capacity to resolve problems or difficult situations. Since a senior worker has been in the company many years, he or she will know how conclicts or problems can be resolved more easily. And on the other hand, a good performance employee will always have innovate ideas or new ways to resolve the mentioned conflicts.

Peronally I think that the best way to promote a employee is to see his results. So I would choose the performance based promotion. I beleive that no matter how long you work in a company, the employers always see the results. For example, when I had the opporunity to work in a hotel company, I remember that my boss all the time was asking me and my colleges about the eficiency of our work and the results we made on the day.

In conslusion, both the seniority based and performance based promotion are useful for the company. Nevertheless, I strongly beleive that performance is allways the best way to measure the worker ability.