Some parents do not agree with the way teachers are teaching their children. Do you think that

parents should express their disapproval to the teachers?

Parents always care about their children's education since good education can lead to an overall development of children. Nevertheless, sometimes they may share different views in education methods with teachers. It is a difficult question whether parents should cast doubt on teachers. As far as I am concerned, I believe that parents should express their concerns to teachers immediately as long as their argument is reasonable and convincing.

Firstly, education is too crucial for kids to take risks. If parents fail to express their concerns, children may feel shy or nervous to talk to teachers, which causes the problem to continue taking a toll on children in school. It is parents' responsibilities to solve a problem for their kids, and the best way to do so is to communicate with teachers, who are usually in charge with. Take my own experience as an example, in my elementary school, I moved to another province. It was a tough patch for me and worse still, teachers there taught in local dialects which I cannot follow. Thanks to my parents, who talked to teachers immediately they knew my problems, they taught in Mandarin since. If my parents failed to communicate with my teachers in time, the problem would have continued existing and had a negative impact on my study. As shown in the example, it is important for parents to express disapproval to teachers to protect their kids.

Additionally, teachers would also benefit a lot if parents point out their weaknesses in pedagogical methods. As the saying goes, to err is human. Teachers are not perfect as well so feedback from parents is important source of information to help them improve their work. For instance, I am a teaching assistant now, and I find parents' opinions, especially negative ones useful to me. Last semester many parents told me that I should have assigned less homework because their kids were so struggled at home. I did so and this really helped my students feel more relaxed about studying and thus promoted their interests in course material.

Admittedly, some parents may cast doubt on teachers simply because that they feel dissatisfied with teachers with no underpinning evidence or reasons. I do agree that these kinds of disapproval are largely invalid since should be discouraged since they make no sense. However, we cannot reject the importance and benefits of disagreeing with teachers simply because some parents do so in a wrong way. Generally speaking, as long as parents talk with teachers in an open and convincing way, I think the communication will lead to a win-win situation.

To sum up, because of large benefits on both children and teachers, I think it should be encouraged that parents express concerns and disapproval to teachers. However, to make the communication efficient and conducive, parents should use evidence to support their disagreement rather than simply complain, while teachers should listen to parents' suggestions and strive to enhance their teaching methods.