Some parents forbid young children from owning smartphones (cell phones with Internet access), while others disagree and believe that they are important tools for keeping in touch. Which point of view do you think is better, and why?

I would side with the parents having the former point of view - young children should not be allowed to own smartphones. While the advantages smartphones offer in today’s world can not be ignored, young children (especially under the age of 15) can completely without them.

Smartphones are distractive, at the least, and destructive at their worst. Children need balanced lives, with appropriate amount of physical activity and focus on skill development and academic growth. Smartphones are a hindrance to all of these activites. The addiction of social media, games, music keeps a child occupied - leaving him no time for physical activity. Easy access to solutions to their homeworks and assignments hamstrings their mental growth.

Another issue that comes with owning a smartphone is security (or its lack, thereof). There is a plethora of cybercrime and malicious users who can harm a child (and even adults) in many ways. From inappropriate information gleaning to possibly abuse and even physical harm in some cases, children are susceptible to many such possible crimes if they are not careful (and in majority of the cases, one cannot expect a 10-year old to be able to identify such crimes by himself).

Exceptions can be made for students who are living away from home and in such cases, smartphones would definitely help them to be in touch with their families, but even in those cases - perhaps the parents themselves should have control (or supervision) over the data plans, etc. that the child uses.