Some parents offer their school-age children money for each high grade (mark) they get in school. Do you think this is a good idea?

Without a shadow of doubt, education plays a prominent role in every individual’s life. On the other hand, parents by encouraging their children have enormous influence in increasing children’s motivation. In this regard, parents use money as a prize to persuade their children. Some people are inclined toward the opinion that offering money for each child’s high grade is a great idea to motivate them, whereas others hold exactly the opposite perspective. From my vantage point, the former helps children in manifold ways. In the following paragraphs, I will elaborate on my viewpoint through three noticeable reasons.

The first reason that supports my idea is that paying money to children due to their good marks motivates them. It is no secret that different kinds of encouragement to children in every task or situation give more incentive to them for doing the task carefully. Furthermore, if they know they will get money at the end of their efforts, they will try doing their best. As a personal experience, when I was a child I didn’t get good grades in the school because I didn’t have any motive for studying better my courses. When my parents decided to give me money for each good marks, it had great impacts on my efforts. In fact, it was a turning point in my life, and after that, I tried to study better. Therefore, could not only I get high grades in the school but also it had considerable effects on raising my knowledge. As a result, I could go to a decent university.

Another equally noteworthy point supporting the opinion is that everybody is familiar with this anecdote that “no pain, no gain”. It implies that everybody should apply all their efforts to reach their goals. In fact, when children try to obtain money, they learn that they should strive to reach their goals. As a result of such trying in childhood, they will be more successful in their future career, because they are familiar with this fact that if they want a perfect result they should try to get it. For example, one of my friends believes that paying money by her parents was one of the precious events in her life. After that, she has learned to manage her goals and defined every goals’ accomplishments for herself. So, she adjusts her efforts to reach her goals. The more goals have big results, the more she efforts to achieve them.

It is confirmed that this idea has many advantages in boosting children’s economic views. Everybody knows that childhood lessons are the most important in creating a child’s characteristics. Therefore, when children learn to spend money in their childhood, it will have remarkable impacts on their future economic success. In this regard, parents’ considerations for encouraging children by paying money to them, are essential, because children learn how to spend their money in different areas. For instance, they may buy some books and games, to name but a few. Also, parents can go further and help their children to manage their money in efficient ways. Thus, children can be taught to their future economic decisions. A study has done recently which has specified that those people who have learned to spend their money in childhood have a more successful economic future than the people who never have learned to manage their money.

To wrap it up, all the aforementioned reasons lead us to the conclusion that not only paying money to children has great influences on boosting their knowledge but also it plays a crucial role in figuring their characteristics. It is highly suggested that authorities should inform the parents of the importance of this kind of encouragement. Also, scientists can investigate other techniques to encourage children by their families.