Some parents offer their school-age children money for each high grade (mark) they get in school. Do you think this is a good idea?

Children should have impetus to improve their educational status. According to different social classes, parents consider different prizes for their children to encourage them to make headway in their learning such as giving them money, admire them orally, and buying books, to name but a handful. In this regard, there is a long-standing discussion among psychologists about the best gift parents could offer their offspring for each high grade they get in school. Some psychologists believe that parents should not pay children money for their good mark and other prizes are much better than money. Others, however, advocate the idea that giving children money thanks to their great performance in school could be tremendously instructive. I personally, concur with the latter. In the following paragraphs, I will delve into the most important reasons.

First of all, children should learn to manage their expenses in the near future. If parents offer their children money for high grade they obtain in exams, they become aware of the value of money. In other words, they understand that without effort they cannot achieve anything, as oppose to a situation, when parents provide lots of money for their children whenever they want and need as allowance. For example, in my childhood, my father promised to give me enough money that sufficed to purchase a bicycle, if I obtained a specific score or higher in my final exams. I strove to achieve this goal, so I became the first-ranked student. By doing so, I understood that for achieving everything in life, individuals should attempt continually. Had my father gave me pocket money without any request, I would have not become prosperous in the sphere of science and education now.

Secondly, by paying children money for their great performance in school, they have some independence to spend their money to whatever they want. One of the most important qualities an individual must have is being independent. Parents should not decide for children all the time. If parent offer their children money for their high scores, they allow them to be independent and do not rely too much to their parents for their decisions. In addition, they can enjoy spending money in the way that is desirable for them such as going to recreation centers, zoo, park to name but a few with their friend.

All in all, I really believe that parents should not give their children money without any convention and expectation. It makes children dependent and aimless. Hence, should parent offer their children money for their high marks, they pave the way for their future success from many aspects.