Some parents offer their school-age children money for each high grade they get in school. Do you think this is a good idea?

Nowadays, with accessibility of a wide range of entertainments and computer games, one of the most important issues of concern that not only parents but also teachers are face with is the reduction of grades that students achieve and many parents would like to solve this problem using financial policy. Whether or not financial policy can solve the issue or even has any benefits is a matter of controversy. From my point of view, obligation to study harder with financial punishment not only is not beneficial but also has adverse consequences, my reasons are discussed as follows:

Firstly, as far as I know, children never favor something dictated to them via obligation. Using obligation policy may be successful in the short-term because students need some money and the only way to achieve it is studying harder and obtaining higher grades; however, over time they will get bored and ignore their families financial incentive. Therefore, students don’t have internal motivation to follow science because we never assisted them to appreciate knowledge, they never return back to the schools and science. So offering money to boost grades has nothing to provide except more harm.

Furthermore, one of the fundamental needs that has an immense effect in children’s characters is conditional love which means children want to be loved without any reasons and if parents pay money for improving grades, children will think that their grades are more important than themselves which is very harmful for their self-confidence and cause catastrophic consequences for them in long-term. Moreover, a lot of psychologists believe that the human’s character is formed in their childhood and depended on how their parents to behave them; therefore offering money for doing something and then using force and conditional love for not doing it can impact adversely on our next generation’s personality.

In conclusion, whether improving grades of students is significant but their characters are more important and we should not ignore children personalities because of increasing their grades. And we should solve this problem with adopting better policy such as scientific trips and interesting researches to motivate them.