Some parents offer their school age children money for each high grade mark they get in school Do you think this is a good idea Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

There is no shortage of opinions on whether parents should offer money to motivate their children to get high grades. While some people believe money is a good incentive for children to study harder, I do not agree with this opinion. I believe offering money to children for high grades may trigger negative results and I will develop my idea in the following paragraphs.

First of all, children may take inappropriate actions if they are offered to receive money for good grades. To get high scores, children is possible to cheat on exams or copy answers from their classmates. Children may not care whether they gain the knowledge. Instead, they just care about numbers or remarks on the assignments or exams. Drawing from my experience, my aunt gives my cousin money if he receives an A in any subject. Therefore, my cousin tries to find the courses that are easy to get an A in and tried to copy the answer from his classmates. He does not care if they really understand the content of the lecture. He just wants to receive good scores so that he can receive the money. It turns out that the money is making my cousin learn less from school. For this reason, I can not support that money should be offered to children as an incentive for learning.

Secondly, school-age children do not need money so the money they receive would not be well-used. Nowadays, parents usually take good care of their children. They provide healthy foods to their children and drive their children to school. Children do not need money for living so they may use the money they gain from the high scores to play video games or buy comic books which may distract them from school studies. For example, my cousin, John, got money from his mother and he used all the money on video games. He spent a lot of time playing games and forgot to review his schoolwork. Hence, offering money to children is not a good idea as they do not know how to make good use of money.

Although offering money may encourage children to study harder, from a long-term perspective, it could lead to negative consequences as children should cultivate a good habit to study on their own and try to find their own interests in school subjects.

In light of the reasons above, I think that offering money is not a good idea to motivate children on learning.