Some parents offer their school-age children money for each high grade (mark) they get in school. do you think this is a good idea?

Success in school and getting good education is a gate to later success on everyone’s life. Parents try to motivate their children to study better, so that they would get better marks and finally reach higher educational levels. Some parents use money to motivate their children, for instance they give them some amount of money for every good mark they get. Although this is a motivational method used by several parents, nevertheless, I do not think this a good method. Accordingly, reasons are provided.

Firstly, Children should learn to study for greater goals than earning money to get effective education. I remember when I was a child my uncle used to reward my cousins with money for every grade they got that was higher than 80. Accordingly, my cousins always tried to do their best, so that they would get better marks, and subsequently more rewards. However, this attitude caused them to just care about their mark, and not about understanding their lessons. At the other hand, I was very interested in some of my subjects, like math, and used to have a very good focus on it. Although I was never rewarded for my marks, but because I really liked math, I was able to score in countrywide math competitions and as a result got acceptance in the best universities to continue my studies on math.

Secondly, by giving money as motivator to children, they will get used to doing any good thing just because of money, and eventually lose all other mottos that could drive them to success. For example, as a child, I always dreamed of being a math professor, and getting to the highest places in this subject and having my own patents. In contrary, my cousin always just dreamed of getting more money, and finding other ways to get money from people around him. He never thought about long distance vision of his studies, just about immediate success, which translated to earning money for him. Considering all this, he never had a plan for his future, and despite all his great grades, when he graduated, he chose to take part in gambling to get more easy money.

In short, parents should find alternative methods to motivate their children to study better, so that they would learn real value of studying and get motivations to focus on important things like planning for greater things in the future.