Some people believe that the best way of learning about life is by listening to the advice of family and friends. Other people believe that the best way of learning about life is through personal experience. Compare the advantages of these two different w

When it comes to learning about life, people always cannot reach a consensus on the best method of achieving success. Some asserts that taking others' advice is better, while others believe that one can learn more from personal experience. It is a two-edged sword issue as both methods have advantages respectively.

On the one hand, accepting advice of family or friends is more efficient. One can reduce risks by learning others' life experience and avoid too many unnecessary failure and trials. The elders have been through the hardships in lives and can provide precious as well as sagacious solutions to problems in different life stages. For instance, my elder brother strongly recommends me to do part-time jobs during college since he knows most interviewers emphasize more on fresh graduates' working experience than on degrees. Consequently, I received many job offers now due to my rich working experience in college.

On the other hand, some people think that not every suggestion is applicable as others' approaches do not fit in each situation perfectly. In fact, everyone's circumstance vary and others success normally cannot be copied. Furthermore, people acquire more skills and knowledge by fulfilling tasks themselves. For example, my friend realized that her senior colleague's way of arranging meetings was a little out of date as they didn't know how to take the advantage of online calendar. Thus, she decided to organize working affairs in her own way.

Were I given a choice, I consider learning about life through personal experience more meaningful. Despite the bittersweet hardships and setbacks that I have to undergo, I believe that it is an indispensable path to learn about life as without mistakes people can learn nothing. Moreover, each life has distinctive color and I would rather form my own values instead of following others blindly, losing myself eventually. Hence, I think the best way to learn about life is to experience.