Some people believe that the Earth is being harmed by human activity Others feel that human activity makes the Earth a better place to live What is your opinion

With the aid of technological advances, people have greatly improved their lifestyles by boosting efficiency in agricultural and industrial productions. Although new technology helps people to expand a range of human activities by reducing human labor in agriculture and industry, the environment is threatened by the impact on rapid population growth and urbanization. Since natural disasters have become more frequent and intense, I believe human activities involve higher risks of environmental degradation resulting in serious natural disasters.

First, forest areas have rapidly declined since people have prioritized economic activities at the expense of nature. Improved technology allows people to expand the production capacity of agricultural land, which led to population growth. In response to the greater capacity and demand for food supply, people enlarged farmland and housing by sacrificing forests including diverse ecosystems. Besides, people focused on planting the same types of trees to maximize the efficiency and profits for the timber industry. As a result, the forests that lost biodiversity suffer from a lack of stability of the forest ecosystem, which induces infectious diseases for trees and causes landslides.

Second, rapid urbanization and industrialization pollute the environment such as air and water. More people have moved in urban areas where people engage in more economic activities, more urban environments are affected by human activities. For example, in some cities that lack effective public transportation systems, the residents have to rely on driving their cars to commute, which creates traffic congestions resulting in air pollution from the emission of the cars. Moreover, factories also contribute to air and water pollution by blowing chemical vapors and disposing of toxic waste. Likewise, compared to rural areas, cities are more vulnerable to the harmful impacts of human activities.

Third, people have faced an increase in natural hazards as a result of environmental deterioration, which implies a dangerous tipping point in climate change. Since human activities of modern society have led to global warming by producing a greater amount of carbon dioxide, climate change exacerbates climate hazards such as drought and floods. While some areas of the earth suffer from a lack of rainfall, other areas are flooded by heavy precipitation. Furthermore, most coastal areas are at risk from rising sea levels due to global warming. As those serious climate disasters have occurred more frequently, people have to be aware of the environmental impacts of human activities and to miniate the harmful damage to nature. Otherwise, the earth would be inhospitable for humanity once the world passed the tipping point in climate change.

In conclusion, I believe human activities have deteriorated the environment by exploiting natural resources and producing pollution due to rapid urbanization and industrialization. Despite technological advances contribute to productivity for food and economy, urban land expansion and human activities must be controlled to create a sustainable relationships between nature and humanity.