Some people believe that students should be given one long vacation each year. Others believe that students should have severe short vacations throughout the year.

Opinions vary with the regard to the question of whether student should have a long vacation once a year or divide into smaller pieces throughout the year. Although, taking long vacations has its clear benefits, the vacations distributed throughout the year eventually are more preferred for students.

To begin with, the long vacations are conjugated with high costs, which are incurred for a long stay. By reducing the time spent on the vacations students can reduce the initial outlay of money for longer vacations and divide it into smaller pieces, especially in terms of money shortage. However, the long stay fosters the maintenance of relationships between and among the students and their relatives. The rise of the availability of international studying programs for foreign students is positively correlated with the number of foreigners joining the schools. Those students are specially interested in long vacations, which, in turn, give them the possibility to return home for a long stay. By staying longer at home with beloved ones students recharge their batteries and return in better conditions, than those who stay far away from families.

Nonetheless, fractioning the vacation days into shorter stays allows students to join their families more frequent and stay recharged for a prolonged time. To be specific, the sessions in schools are designed in a such way so when the undergraduates become tired after exams period, the vacation begins. This is how the module system works in maintenance of students health and abilities to absorb information from lectures.

By the same token, by taking frequent but short vacations undergraduates avoid large one-time cash outflows. That is not a surprise, that shorter vacations are usually cost less than longer stays. Shorter stays could be funded through earning money between semesters or acquiring debt, however increased debt burden is not favourable for undergraduates. However, by engaging in summer internships student can obtain relevant job experience to expand their future career. So shorter stays are more preferable for students living on scholarships and loans.

All in all, staying shorter for vacations inculcates us the ability to manage students time and eventually boost their careers by participating in internships.