Some people believe that when busy parents do not have a lot of time to spend with their children, the best use of that time is to have fun playing games or sports. Other believe that it is best to use that time doing things together that are related to schoolwork, which of the two approaches do you prefer?

It is no secret that relationship between children and their parents affects children's personality strongly. However, it is still a controversial argument that how they should spend their time together and it has been always a dilemma that whether they should play games in this time or it is better to spend this time on schoolwork. It is my firm belief that parents should not waste this time on getting involved with their children's educational issues and I will elaborate on this in the subsequent paragraphs.

The most important fact to be mentioned is that playing games and sports have the most crucial effect on children's social abilities. They understand how to cope with their parents as their game partner or competitor, how to be gentle when they win the games and how to control their sadness when they lose it. They recognize the value of friendship and kindness and how aggressive reaction can destroy the principle of the games. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. When I was in elementary school I used to become sad easily, as soon as I made some mistakes in my school exams. I did not used to care what my mistake was and how should I have solved it and I just used to start crying immediately. My mother understood this and she started playing a game in which I was not looser when I made mistakes, each mistake was a new solution to find out the secret of the game. Finally, I become stronger and I could accept my mistakes and tried to learn from them.

Another equally important fact to be mentioned is that playing games with children makes a powerful friendship between them and their families. From my vantage point, nothing can make parents and their children closer than playing a game or sport and as a result, fathers and mothers will be the first secret keeper and advisor of their children when they face some problems. As statistics show, parents who play more games with their children are mostly aware of the problems which they are engaged with and they can lead their children easier.

Finally but not less importantly, getting involved with schoolwork can mislead children due to the fact that parents are not usually aware of the details of each lesson or each school project since science is improving rapidly in the contemporary era and their information is not always up to date. Thus, they start teaching their children wrongly and this will influence children’s knowledge adversely.

All in all, however, it is very significant for parents to spend time with their children, in my opinion it is not wise to get involved in their schoolwork in this limited time, while playing games and sports enables them to improve their children personality and make deeper friendship between them.