Some people prefer to pursue career paths that lead to management positions. Other people follow career paths leading to positions of individual responsibility, which do not involve managing others. Which one do you prefer?

Jobs play an important role in our life. We spend long hours in the workplace and most of the times work events spillover to our personal life, although people have different opinions when it comes to their careers. Many people are enthusiastic about claiming the power ladder and achieving managerial positions, yet others are satisfied with an individual responsibility. I personally prefer to see myself as a manager in the near future, my reasons to why this is so are as follow.

To start with, leading a company is a very huge responsibility, and could be risky, exciting and tough, these are factors that make a job appealing. Consider the situation when a company is about to launch a new program or brand, all eyes are on the manager to guide them and does the right moves. No one would expect an employee to do this role. Having different responsibilities could enhance a leader’s confidence, also demand him to improve himself in the various aspects. For example, all managers should be really expert in their job and have a decent personality, so managerial positions provide people with the opportunity to try harder and become a better person, otherwise they won’t be able to accomplish the companies’ goals.

Furthermore, based upon psychological theories, at the age of 40th people need to guide and teach the new generations in order to have a more functional life. To explain more, 40th is a critical age in which people are looking for a meaning in their life, so educating and guiding younger people mean that they have something which is considered valuable for others, so they will be in a better mental condition this way. For an instance, consider a manager who is supposed to teach the work process to the newcomers, after doing this he can see how influential he is and this kind of feeling can fulfill his psychological need for having a meaningful life.

Finally, when we are working as a manager, we have to work and deal with people from the higher level of the society. These kinds of connections could be quiet beneficial, these could help us to get even better job positions and stay in sync with the latest changes in our industry. Also, these links can help us when are in trouble, since good connections and strong partners can make us more powerful.

All in all, being in a managerial position is a kind of career which I am looking forward to it because of various bounces that come along with this job, although having a good job with some personal responsibilities could be interesting for some people. I believe that high level jobs can make extraordinary people.