Some people say that in all levels of education too much time is spent on learning facts and not enough on learning practical skills.

An education provides a significant base of knowledges for future. However, I am for the idea that students get not enough practical skills and too much theory in all level of an educational system, which leads to troubles in a first work place and a lack of soft skills.

To begin with, what a great difference between a worker who comes straight after a university and an experienced one or between a first course student and an older one? Beginners of any field do not familiar with how actually a mechanism works. For instance, when I started my career as a landscape designer, I did about tree or four different versions of plans and asked a customer what should I changed. After a year It was clear that those approach to work spent my resources and time inefficiently. As I did not know how to work with people I did a lot of useless moves and fussed about unnecessary items. The practice helped me elaborate on algorithm how to do work done, therefore how to live and earn money.

The next idea in favor of the first one is that people with excellent education sometimes can not find their place in a society. They are great at a theory and can compute difficult math tasks. However, those unacknowledged people due to lack of soft skills misses opportunities. For example, friend of mine is talented mathematician. He has finished two universities with prestigious diploma and up until now he worked as mechanic in an asphalt plant. All of the above is a good illustration of how an individual with magnificent knowledges of the subject did not find application of them.

To sum it up, I claim with confidence that persons due to education get a lot of theory and lack of practice. This is happened to me and people around as well.