Some people say that in all levels of education, from primary schools to universities, too much time is spent on learning facts and not enough on learning practical skills.

Do you agree or disagree?

Education is the key to the success of students in the future world. To have a good education it is important to learn theories as well as practical skills. personally, I believe that colleges and universities should spend time developing practical aspects of a student while giving theoretical knowledge. it is my firm belief that spends time on practical skills is important for several reasons, which I will explore in the subsequent paragraphs.

To begin with, when we are professionals after graduation we need to communicate with others and our success in our career is dependent on our presenting and demonstrating abilities. without proper communication skills, we cannot explain our idea or we cannot debate against our opinions to the community. I have to admit that my opinion on this matter has been profoundly influenced by my own personal experience. As an undergraduate, we use to practice our presentation skills with the project evaluations. Though our university spent more time on teaching theories, when I go to the industry, I realized that the small-time spent on presentations are more important than theories. Since even our idea is the best out of all it is not worth if we cannot demonstrate to society. For this reason, I feel that the education system should spend more time on developing practical skills that teaching just theories.

Secondly, professions like engineers, doctors need more time on practical scenarios while learning facts. if an engineer learns facts without having any practical knowledge, how can he develop that idea to well being of the society? In this case, an engineer's development would be not suitable or it might fail in the middle of the constructions. For instance, my friend Nimal is an engineer from a private university and he worked as a site engineer of a highway construction site. However, he is not able to build the bridge with required standards and therefore while construction is taking place one side of the bridge was falling. In my point of view, this cause happens due to the lack of experience on the practical side, and therefore universities should spend more time teaching those skills to students.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that it is important to have more time on teaching practical skills rather than use all the time to learn facts. this is because practical skills helped to success in our career and it will reduce the failures in development in a country.