Some people say that economic growth is the only way to end world poverty and hunger Others say that economic growth is damaging the environment and should stop Discuss b the views and give your own opinion

Ever since civilization, people are craving to flourish their lives through economic activities. Whereas some people believe that economic growth is the only way to eradicate poverty, others think that today's economic growth imposes a heavy burden on the environment, and they should slow it down. In my opinion, I reckon that it is critically important to keep sustainable economic growth rather than slowing it down for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First and foremost, a sustainable economic growth strategy generates job opportunities and hence a higher demand for labor, which allows the poor to participate fully in the job market. To be more specific, a strong economy creates lots of diversified activities that accommodate millions of people to work, which secure a decent quality of life and move them away from poverty. For example, China alone has lifted millions of people out of poverty, and its economic growth was crucial to the enormous reduction of poverty. Moreover, most developed countries with sustained growth provide their citizens with all the required necessities to live a high-quality life away from poverty. On the other hand, countries with slow economic progress suffer a high unemployment rate with all the undesirable consequences associated with it, which mostly is hunger, crime, and sometimes civil wars over food. As you can see, economic growth is the most effective way to pull people out of poverty and deliver on the ultimate objective of a better life.

Secondly, the management of the environmental drawbacks can go abreast with economic growth. In other words, integrated efforts between countries over the globe and the people can put limits an end to deterioration of the environmental drawbacks. For instance, industrialization and means of transportations are the fundamental emitters of pollution and global warming. Governments should enforce laws and raise taxes on these types of factories and facilitate investment in industries that use clean and renewable natural resources. Also, they can collaborate with media platforms and educational institutes to increase social awareness on how and why we should conserve our resources for the next generations. Besides, they can encourage planting trees and put constraints on deforestation, which enhances the absorption of harmful green gases. Frankly, governments have the upper hand to manage all environmental issues, but not at the expense of economic growth.

In conclusion, I believe that slowing down economic growth is not an appropriate solution to environmental hazards. Not only because it provides job opportunities, which protect us from poverty, but also governments can manage all environmental issues.