TPO 28: Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Parents today are more involved in their children’s education than were parents in the past.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Education is critically important because it is the gate to a prosperous future professionally and personally. Whereas some people believe that parents in the past were more involved in their children's learning than their contemporary counterparts, others hold the opposite standpoint. In my opinion, I do reckon that the current parental involvement in children's education is more extensive than ever before. I feel that way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First and foremost, nowadays, the vast majority of parents are more aware than in the past that education can give their children a competitive edge that enables their children to stand out of the crowdedness in the fiercely competitive modern world. I have a vivid example of this situation. A long time ago, I had my high school diploma, and my parents thought that was enough education for me. However, my attitude towards my daughter when she finished her high school diploma was entirely different; I highly encouraged her to study at medical school in the USC in the US. As a result, she is now one of the most renowned doctors in Egypt. Had not for my awareness of the power of education and my considerable involvement, my daughter would have never achieved that level of recognition.

Secondly, parents now support their children financially more than before. In other words, parents now work hard, save money, and even get loans to finance their children's schooling in the most prestigious schools. Therefore, in their mindset, they have every right to be extensively involved in their education choices. For instance, my best friend's parents spent a substantial amount of money on my friend's schooling. As a result, they helped him choose appropriate courses and programs tailored to meet the needs of well-rounded development. In contrast, two decades ago, parents could hardly bear the basic requirements for their children. They cannot afford that kind of expenditure on education, so they were less willing to be involved in their children's education. One case in point is my father received his college education by taking out a bank loan-My grandparent did not pay his tuition fees. Accordingly, my grandparents never asked my father about his academic achievement, school activities, or chosen major. As you can see, parents' ability to finance their children contributes to their involvement in their education.

In a nutshell, I believe that currently, parents are tremendously more involved in their children's education than the previous generation. Not only because of the increasing awareness of the educational value but also because they can afford to finance their children's education more than ever before.