Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important to read or watch news presented by people whose views are different from your own than it is to read or watch news presented by those whose views are similar to your own.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Ever since the dawn of civilization, people are craving to abreast the galloping news in our vigorous world. In my opinion, I believe it is critically important to hear news messages from people who have radically different points of view of ours rather than to adhere to news agencies who broadcast our pre-existing opinions. I feel that way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First and foremost, watching media agencies that provide us with different opinions from ours broadens our horizons because we can see then the panoramic picture of any piece of information from various angles. Undoubtedly, hearing or reading different perspectives provokes our minds to search for the accuracy of our original beliefs and contemplate profoundly. Ultimately, we will build our opinions depending on logical reasoning, which reflects positively on our decisions. For example, a few years ago, I had faith in one of the candidates for the presidential election in my country Egypt and had decided to vote for him. I was flexible enough to embrace every opportunity to hear or read negative opinions about him, which made me anxious to search for trustworthy and neutral thoughts away from fanaticism. Despite that, he was my favorite candidate; I had gone with the rational decision by not voting for him after all.

Secondly, another remarkably potential benefit of obtaining news from those with an opposite view is the higher likelihood to make acquaintance with more people. As we all know, the way a person responds to someone whose opinion differs drastically from theirs reveals their real character. To be more specific, being tolerant of different voices about one thing indicates that a person is blessed (endowed) with the quality of inclusiveness and humility, which leaves good impressions on others. Consequently, no one, including those from the opposing party, will refuse to be friends with open-minded and modest ones. On the other hand, those who are solely accepting the same opinion are usually self-centric and fanatic. So, they do not consider others' thoughts or feelings but impose only their view. Thus, it is unlikely that they will ever build friendships with those of different ideas. Even worse, the already established friends may also end once any disagreement occurs.

In a nutshell, it is sensible for people to read or watch the news from people with dissenting perspectives, to widen their scope, and enlarge their social network.