Some people say that the Internet provides people with a lot of valuable information. Others think access to much information creates problems. Which view do you agree with? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

“knowledge is power”, I do not know who said this, but I totally agree with this statement. The value and the information found on the internet have no boundaries and we have not yet realized the power behind so much information at the tip of our fingers. I strongly agree, the internet brings more benefits instead of creating problems.

First, on the topic of research for college students, the internet provides a venue where they can easily find the information required. In the old days we had to go to the campus library, that required to get to the library, time-consuming, but the most important part is that the information found at the campus library was usually limit to the books the college was able to buy and have for students to research, this does not happen with the internet. Instead, they can be in the comfort of their dorms and access as many sources, from all over the world, as possible on the same topic.

Second, on the topic of professionals trying to keep themselves updated on the latest innovations or technologies regarding their field of expertise. For example, physicians, they do not need to rely any more to the pharmaceutical visit from the drugs companies. Instead, they are sent over their email accounts or their professional website the latest medication released by the drug companies. Furthermore, if they think the medication is the one they would like to use, they can ask for a sample and the pharmaceutical company will send one or couple over the mail.

Last, on the topic of professionals trying to further their studies. There has not been a better time to do so. For example, I just finished my master's degree in education using an online course with the University of Arizona. I chose this university after studying on the internet a handful of similar degrees, I came to the conclusion that this was not only the cheapest but also the one that I wanted to do on teaching science to middle school. Moreover, 90% of the textbooks that I was required to research and study I found those online on the internet.

To summarize, the internet provides a vast amount of knowledge, it is up to us to utilize this in a positive way.