People in today's world have become too dependent on automobiles.

Cars are highly important in today’s world as one of the main sources of transportation. This is most noticeable in American cities and other first countries around the world. Personally. I agree that today’s society has become too dependent on automobiles. I will explain in the following essay.

To start with, in American cities cars are the main form of transportation. Since the 1960s when car industries started to flourish, the family car has become the number one choice of commute for American families. American’s love the independence their cars give them. In addition, cars offer a sense of independence that public transportation cannot offer. In America most cities are spread out, their roads, streets and highway system is designed to increase the number of cars used. Is not usual for many people to have to commute an hour or so to work every day,

Secondly, in America cars do not only use to commute but as a recreational tool. During holidays Americans use their cars to travel and get away from the large cities. Nowadays, one of the best selling cars is the minivan. Moreover, this is the choice of car used by many American families. In this car can fit comfortable a family of up to seven, this car allows them to plan family trips on weekends or holidays.

Last, cars in American are affordable. For most young people in America, their first car is a second-hand car. Nevertheless, a second-hand car still a good car in America. Last year, I bought my son his first car, a Toyota Corolla with 2000 miles on it. But still running very well. Most likely, he will be using this car until he graduates from college when he is able to buy one of his one with his money.

By way of conclusion, I am in the opinion Americans are highly dependent on automobiles for the three reasons I explained above.