Do you agree or disagree with the following statement.

People learn things better from those at their own level - such fellow students or co-workers- than from those at a higher level, such teachers and supervisor

Improving our abilities and skills is one way to search for a better life. Personally, I believe that our bosses and superiors are the ones that are in a better position to guide us than our peers or fellow co-workers.

First, people in high positions like supervisors or teachers not only have the content knowledge, but they also have the expertise to communicate and pass the relevant information to their subordinates. For example, when I was in college I took physics with Pierre, a friend of mine, he was very good at his sciences, especially in physics. I was struggling to understand and feared I could not pass the exams. I asked him to tutor me for my mid-terms, no matter how willing he was to help me, I could not grasp his information. I got so frustrated, finally, I had to ask my professor for help. In a matter of a few minutes, I was able to understand all the vital information I needed to pass my exams. After all, it was not how good my friend Pierre was at physics, it was the way the professor managed to explain the relevant information to me.

Moreover, young people do not often weigh in all the options when making decisions. My own experience is a compelling example of this. After graduation, I tried to start a software company. I outlined all my projects very carefully and spend days and weeks pursuing the best technologies that were out there at that time. I almost committed myself with a bank loan to start my project. At that point, and just by chance, I met with one my former professors, he listed to me very carefully, I knew he liked the project a lot, but at some point, he made a comment regarding the most mundane facts that I have not thought of, like renting a place or paying my taxes. After all, there is more than just technology when putting a software business together.

All in all, I believe that our superiors and teachers are in a better position to lead us and teach us. We can learn from them, not only because they have the knowledge, but because they have the expertise to communicate the facts