Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Always telling the truth is the most important consideration in any relationship.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Friendship is one of the many things that distinguish us from other creatures on this planet Earth. We, humans, have the ability to make choices; we can use our intelligence to deceive people or we can use the best of our abilities to be truthful and honest. I strongly support the latter idea, as the base of any prosperous relationships.

To start with, telling the truth enhances, confidence, builds tighter bonds and makes the relationship stronger. Let’s take, for example, the relationship among siblings, when they are truthful and honest to each other, these two characteristics stay with siblings through their lives. I, myself have two siblings, I know for sure whenever I need honest advice or opinion in personal or private matters, I can always count on my two siblings. Furthermore, their opinions might not be the one I want to hear, but nevertheless, they will always say what they have in their hearts, and I love them for that. On the other hand, if in cases, where siblings do not trust each other, they become lonely and unhappy people.

Secondly, a truthful person is always welcome and value for the strength of his character. For example, in the field of work, a professional that participates and points out not only the positive issues of the company but consider also the negative part or challenges to be improved in the company, are lookup as valuable assets to the company. Furthermore, these individuals, are usually the ones that are going to take the company to the next step up the ladder. Thus, making the company more competitive and profitable.

I do believe in my heart that it pays to be truthful. This, in the long run, will make you a better person.