People today spend too much time on personal enjoyment – doing things they like to do—rather that doing thigs they should do.

Nowadays there are too many entertainments, especially for young adults, teens, and children. Computer games, online gaming, social media, chatting and virtual friends. I strongly believe that our society, in general, spends too much time on these pleasure activities and not enough time on educating themselves. I will explain this in the following essay.

First of all, online free gaming is the new trend among children and teens. Millions of people are spending hours in front of the computer, among them our children. Online gaming is becoming the new drug of the 21st century. Studies have shown that teens and young adults are spending more than 5 hours on weekdays doing online gaming, instead of doing homework or reading. My own experience is a compelling example of this. As a middle school teacher, I have lived the change in attitude in my students. When online games became the frenzy about four years ago. I noticed that students that used to be fairly good at doing their homework or preparing their test no longer felt the need to be responsible for their work. Furthermore, I started noticing that they were falling asleep in class and saw them very tired due to a lack of sleep.

Second, young people pay too much attention to social media. They not only spend hours on their phones chatting, texting, video calling, etc. But they feel depressed if they do not get enough people that follow them. As a result, young people are not coming out of the universities as well prepared as the should be. We are creating a society of mediocre professionals, due to the fact that they rather feel important on social media, that being proactive in their studies.

By way of conclusion, I feel that today’s teen and young adults are wasting their time in useless games and leisure electronic related activities. Instead of preparing themselves to be better professionals