Some people say that the Internet provides people with a lot of valuable information. Others think access to much information creates problems. Which view do you agree with? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In my opinion that the valuable and massive amount of information made available to people today because of the internet is responsible for the increase in general awareness and exposure among the society.

First and foremost, information made available by the internet helps us to make well informed decisions. I have innumerable personal experiences to support this reason. For example, I bought a car a few weeks back. I wanted to buy a second-hand car rather than a new one. So , I went to a website called Ola and looked at the posts written by multiple people willing to sell their car. This plateform also provided the ratings and information regarding the condition of these used cars. Specifications of the cars available on the website including the condition of their tiers, Kilometers covered by the car and mileage helped me select one from the the plethora of options available. I was able to get the work done in about an hour . In contrast, during the pre-internet time it was a matter of weeks which required a rigorous asking around about any used car available and then visiting these prospective sellers to see the condition of that car.

Secondly, internet made it possible to get the information on click of a button. For instance, I still remember the time we used to have encyclopedia and even that was not enough to get all the information required. Hours of searching in a library or digging into a book was required to gather a general understanding of a simple question such as, how the engine of a car works. In contrast, today there are numerous youtube videos that can teach one about this topic under five minutes.

Finally, availability of plentiful information has also provided the much needed exposure to people. My own experience is a compelling example of this. I wanted to be an engineer and there is no engineer in my family. So, when it came to selecting a major which we need to do in the first year even before getting a sense of what these prospective majors are even about. In the times before internet, to get information on such a important issue required an awkward phone call to a distant relative. However, availability of the internet made it possible for me to read multiple articles regarding various majors offered by my college and I chose Information and Control Engineering as my major which I did not even know existed before I read about it on the internet.

To put it briefly I am a strong supporter for the plethora of information provided by the internet as it provides better exposure, saves time and helps us make better decisions.