Some people say that spending the national budget on space exploration is a waste of resources. They insist that those funds should be spent on people living on earth. Do you agree or disagree?

Many believe that allotting funds for developing technology for space exploration is unjustifiable and that it should be allocated to the people on earth. I agree with this and I believe that space missions have more disadvantages than disadvantages.

Firstly, depending on the length and the goal of the mission, millions if not billions of dollars have to be used. In fact, the national budget could be far better used for projects such as the energy transition process from fossil to renewable sources for our earth instead of wasting it on space travel.

Although space exploration can offer almost endless opportunities for technological advancements. It is often quite time-consuming and sometimes missions may not yield any results. In fact, all attempts to find extraterrestrial life have failed up to this point and it might not change in the near future.

Furthermore, there are plenty of controversies regarding the long-term health effects of Space travel on our astronauts. Although scientists argue that it does not cause too many severe long-term health issues. Astronauts are exposed to ionizing radiation which puts them in a more serious problem in the long run. In fact, the probability of astronauts to suffer from cancer will be much higher compared to an average person.

In conclusion, although space exploration may secure the survival of the human species, we have more serious problems at hand that should be addressed as soon as possible.