Some people say that students should study many lessons during a semester, but others say that it is better for students to just take three or four lessons. Which do you think is better?

A reasonable number of courses during a semester, the foundation of a quality education, has aroused discussions and even debates. In many people’s views, students should study many lessons during a semester. Contrary to these people’s opinions is my perspective that it is better for students to just take three or four lessons, because students are overwhelmed in class and after class. Additionally, if students have more spare time, they can allocate time and energy to other meaningful things.

What must be prioritized is that students are overloaded in class and after class. Students, fully engaged in school work, are unavailable for too many lessons. To be more specific, due to daily presentations, and excessive group projects, students find it laborious to study many lessons during a semester. On the other hand, not only do students distribute a great deal of time to academic learning, but they should be involved in extracurricular activities. In detail, the more frequently they participate in choruses, or attend pottery classes, the less they are likely to complete too many lessons. Take Anna, a medical student in Peking University, as an example, she usually struggles to learn burdensome medical courses in class, and after class, she should participate in voluntary work in hospitals. Although there are just three or four lessons to study, it is also very burdensome for Anna. She always works till very late at night.

What is equally worth discussing is that students can distribute time and energy to other meaningful things such as internship and journey. Internship provides an ideal platform for students to hone their time management skills, which are unavailable in school lessons. In detail, in the confrontation of several critical tasks during internship, students need label and arrange them in the order of urgency, and prioritize the ones in demand for instant attention. What’s more, during a journey, communicative skills, a crucial element factor in one’s personal and academic life, can be practiced. To be more specific, people from various backgrounds and cultures are accessible in a trip, where a set of interpersonal skills, including nonverbal communication, engaged listening and etiquette, can be cultivated. A research conducted by Harvard University, aiming to discover significant elements in one’s success, suggests that students should pay attention to both class work and after-class work for their future development. According to an interviewee, he used spare time to do internship in a big company, where he developed social skills as well as time management skills. So with the experience, he will be competitive in the future.

Students are overwhelmed in class and after class, so taking many lessons in a semester is laborious for them. What’s more, if students have more spare time, they can allocate time and energy to other meaningful things like doing an internship or taking a trip to cultivate social skills and time management skills. In conclusion, it is better for students to just take three or four classes during a semester.