Some people like to take classes online instead of attending them in person. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend? What do you prefer? Use details and examples in your response.

Online Education has been one of the most important changes caused by the pandemic. Almost all the world has taken this way to maintain the academic process, and people talk and choose what they prefer but, as a teacher, I have lived and experienced many of these advantages and disadvantages of working with children online.

A positive aspect of virtual education is the use of new technologies. Most of the users are, precisely, children and adolescents. Before the pandemic, children had been improving in the practice of new technologies and online education just increased this development. Many students, even kindergartens, learn to use applications, computers, devices, and new tools for learning. Schools and universities tried to prepare professors for this purpose but, at least, we figured out that children didn’t have problems using it. My own experience is with four graders, who connected, participated, and enjoyed with applications like Meet and Zoom, using them more easily than their parents and even teachers. Every day before and after class, they told me how much they were entertained with games, music, social media, and they usually had shared with the class what they learned by themselves. They taught me to customize my wallpaper and cursor! I could notice children are used to working with virtual tools because it is part of their own generational identity, and they will (they are, actually) contribute to the growing of the virtual world.

On the other hand, it is important to explain that a big disadvantage is the lack of social abilities, which can be developed in a real classroom like respect, empathy, solidarity, capacity to listen to others, share belongings, make friends and be communicative. Without these skills children are more frustrated, more violent and more selfish due to the lack of social interaction. Elementary teachers experienced this situation when presential classes returned, and so do I! When I worked with first, second and third graders, it was very difficult to do activities and classes because many of them didn’t know “how to behave” in a class: they couldn’t stay seated, or wait for others, couldn’t follow instructions. They only wanted to play. It made me think online lessons did not work. Talking to my colleagues, they opened my mind: “At first it looks bad but, keep calm and wait, because they only need something that they don’t have, to socialize”. Humans live in community, and school is the best place for this interaction.

Advantages and disadvantages of Online Education are a fact, which have more aspects affecting this process and finally, as a teacher, I need to prepare children for their development as workers but mainly as a person. I can understand decisions of schools and keeping children safe but presential education cannot be replaced.