State whether you agree or disagree with the following statement. To improve the quality of education, universities should spend more money on salaries of university professors.

Nowadays, is considered by universities a prerequisite to have high standards as sign of prestige, and one of the most crucial issues is that some people believe that colleges should spend more money on professor’s salaries to improve the quality of education, while others argue the opposite. Nevertheless, in my opinion, increasing pay is not a consistent reason to prove a betterment in this topic, because salary is not an effective way when it comes to change the pedagogical strategies or either the method that each teacher works.

To begin with, a higher salary doesn’t mean that a person will be better trained, as quality might not change due to the teacher may feel that they are already doing an excellent job in their own opinion. In some cases, it is true that pay rise would be an incentive to professionals to do their job motivated, but this is an indirect benefit for students, considering that nobody can assure it will result in a positive impact inside classrooms. For example, when I was in my freshman year, I had a teacher who had seriously problems in matters of giving us education. I remember she haven’t the sufficient organization, grammar, or vocation to progress with us. And instead of all, she was very haughty to those around her because of her social and economic position on campus. Evidently, money doesn’t have a direct influence in how teaching it will be.

Secondly, it is a mistake to have professors who lack pedagogical studies, despite their broad knowledge in their field. In universities it is common to have this situation since it is not a requirement to work as a teacher in this kind of institutions. Even though it is important to have doctorates, it is essential to have teachers who can learn different ways of teaching, in such manner they will be able to transmit them experiences and understanding to the class. For example, in my sophomore year I had a teacher that was a specialist on radio, but also, she studied language pedagogic, so in classes she always dedicated time to correct us individually to see our phonetical errors, which no many professors would take this sort of trouble. These changes can inspire student’s enthusiasm towards study and encourage them to have a greater academic performance. Moreover, High qualified professionals can grant wiser suggestions and guide undergraduates in a right direction.

To sum up, I believe universities should focus on more effective methods to improve quality standards instead of spending more money on professor’s salaries. In that way you can create a positive environment and attract more talented people who will increase the prestige of college.