Some people think that we learn our most important lessons in school. Others think that the knowledge we acquire outside of school is the most important. which one you prefer and why?

Knowledge is not only what we learn from textbooks or in schools, but it’s also about the lessons one can learn far beyond the school premises. From my experience, I believed that knowledge that one acquire outside of school is the most important as it allows an individual to cope with surrounding circumstances, to become more responsible, to grow at their own pace and to gain knowledge from people of different interests.

First of all, school lessons didn’t teach us how to face a real-life problem, as when I was in St. Mary School, my classmate Vashi had some financial crises at home as she lost her father, but she and her mother didn’t give up on life. Vashi started giving tuition after school and her mother started her lunch box service. This made vashi more responsible and taught her how to act in a certain circumstance, which she never learns in school.

Also, schools are mostly concerned with competition, it provides a network where students compete with each other in spite of diversity in their intellectual level whereas outside lessons taught us to grow at our own pace. For instance, after my graduation in mechanical engineering, it was hard to find a job I was really interested in and on the other hand, my batch mates were well-placed in multi-national companies. Eight months later I have my perfect job as a simulation engineer and this life event taught me that it is okay not to compare yourself with others and grow at your own pace.

Moreover, the outside world taught the benefits of interacting with people from different backgrounds and which furthermore increases one's ingenuity. For example, once I met an archaeologist who told me about pyramids of Giza and about the mysterious voids discovered. Though I had no idea about pyramids, this conversation increases my curiosity and intelligence about the subject.

From my perspective, I posit that knowledge we acquire outside of the school is most important because it makes a person more responsible, more intellectual and allows an individual to concern about self-growth without being competitive.