State whether you agree or disagree with the statement.  Then explain your reasons using specific details in your explanation. President Piñera should be impeached.

The social explosion of October 28th has left in check the political representativeness and the neoliberal model, imposed in 80s during the dictatorship of Pinochet. I think if we want a real deep change, Piñera must be constitutionally impeached and judged to make way to a new government that could respond Chilean demands, because he has the lowest acceptance registered and already has shown his incapacity to attend people’s problems, criminalizing social protests and systematically violating human rights.

Military don’t know how to deal with political problems without violence. During the week of October 28th, after the state of emergency that was declared by the president with the excuse of avoid lootings and vandalism), we relived the wound of having military in the streets. The hundreds of people who were hurt with eye injuries or, others, who lost their vision during protests, turned on the alert about a possible instruction to shoot directly in the face. Also, ten have been killed and a thousand have been injured people due to police or military repression, practiced in the state of emergency declared by the president. Although there were at least 10.000 police and soldiers in the streets, lootings and vandalism wasn’t stop, because they didn’t really take over of vandals!. For example, in a manifestation, I saw a small group looting a store and police at corner didn’t do anything, because they were busy hitting pacific protesters! Here, as we can see, they’re systematically violating human rights to turn off the social discontentment by the force.

According to Cadem inquiry, the approval of the President registered a historical minimum of 10% the last week, the worst registered for a mandatory in the Chilean history. In my opinion, this is not only because of elitism that there is when it is decided let the voluntary vote (less than half of people voted for Piñera in last elections), it’s rather a reflex of the poor way that the President has driven the discontentment. The numbers even suggest that he has lost the support of people who were with him initially. Young people know that doesn’t make sense keep waiting for the change we need, to come from a President who takes advantage of an unequal economic model. I’m an excellent example of this: I’m in debt with a bank for millions by a student loan, because here education is not understood as a right. Maybe somebody may say I’m a resentful, but I really think it’s unfair.

The actual Chilean constitution doesn’t permit a resignation from the President, so the only way is the constitutional impeachment. The violation to human rights can’t go on and the numbers of people supporting Piñera seems like a joke. Deputies and senators must keep pressing.