Students are better off staying with people from their own country or with people from other countries

In today’s modern world, we can see a great number of students that because of reasons, such as war, working condition, and state-of-the-art universities, to name but a few, go to other countries for pursuing their educational career. In this condition, they have two choices in choosing roommates. Some of them are of the opinion that choosing a native person as a roommate is a logical way, while others believe that being roommate with people who came from their country is the best manner. I agree with the first idea rather than the second one for two substantial reasons that will be presented here.

First, when students go to other country for pursuing their education career, they usually do not have a sufficient knowledge for communication with others. One of the best ways for strengthening our language being a roommate with people who are the native of that country. By doing so, in the daily communications that all roommates have, we are able to improve our oral skills. In addition, because these people live in that country, they are usually well-connected people and have a great deal of experience about that country, and we can use their experience about work condition in that country.

Second, any student who want to study in another country usually experiences cultural shock at the first step in that country, and this problem causes that those students become depressed. Therefore, the best way to overcome this problem being a roommate with native people from that country. Additionally, because every country has specific rules and cultures, by being a roommate with native people, we can adapt ourselves with their society. As a result, we are able to behave in a proper manner with other people at university and society, which help us to overcome problems such as cultural shock, and we can increase our resilience in that country.

In conclusion, all of the aforementioned reasons lead us to the conclusion that being a roommate with native people has two valuable results. The first one is that we can improve our language skills those are necessary for living there. In addition, we are able to overcome some problems such as cultural shock and increase our adaptation in that country.