Students in a university club want to help others, but they can only choose one project a year, which one of the following is the best? A. Help those students in a nearby primary school with reading and mathematics; B. Help people who cannot afford to bui

Nowadays, which school projects to choose has already become a debatable topic disscussed by college students. Personally speaking, I prefer to choose visit and assist elderly people with daliy tasks for the following reasons.

Assisting old people with daily tasks can bring a number of benefits to both students and senior citizens. For one thing, students are able to pick up some basic life skill and develop a well-rounded character, which is essential for their future life. For example, if they share with the old people the latest event happening both at home and abroad, they can develop communication skills which play an important part in forming relationships as they grow up . At the same time the more time they spend with the old, the more likely that they will have a broader view of life because the senior generation may pass on words of wisdom to them and give sound advice when they are in times of hardship. Moreover, by helping old people do domestic chores such as sweeping the floor, cooking simple dishes and watering the garden, they can become more independent in their own household. Another benefit is that accompanying old people makes it possible for them to live more varied lifestyles after retirement. For example, telling some interesting stories and jokes can help relieve their loneliness and keep their spirits high as they face the difficulties that old age brings. In addition, if the students demonstrate how to use advanced technology like smart phones and computers, senior citizens will be able to better relate to the younger generation and communicate frequently with them through social media like WeChat, which will help them stay in touch with their loved ones. Therefore, helping old people can not only turn university students into more well-rounded characters, but it can also make the lives of the elderly more enjoyable.

However, I feel there are potential drawbacks with the other two volunteering options. Helping students in a nearby school with reading and mathematics is far from easy, because this practice requires university students to possess both solid subject knowledge and efficient teaching techniques. With the ready availability of personal devices such as computers and mobile phones, students especially those who lack self-discipline might spend time checking Facebook and chatting with their friends online instead of paying attention to the teacher. In this respect, keeping their attention and making them concentrate on their studies is difficult for novice teachers without years of professional training. Therefore, in order to ensure a positive outcome, university students have to undergo weeks of professional training, which is not so practical. Likewise, most of the university students may find building a house challenging in that it not only requires collaboration across multiple disciplines including physics and material science but involves many arduous and complicated processes ranging from selecting building materials, designing rooms to installing plumbing grounds. This is never a simple task even for professional architects with many years of experience, let alone amateur university students. It is therefore highly unlikely that university students can acquire such extensive knowledge of teaching and construction in a short period of time and put it into practice effectively as a volunteer.

To conclude, that is why I prefer to visit and asist senior citizens with domestic chores as my holiday project.