Students of a university have a long break between university semesters; the university requires all students to do one of the following for one month during the break:

1. Students must take a course on the subject that has no direct connection to their majors of study (For example, a student majoring in engineering may take course in fine arts or social science.)

2. Students must volunteer to work in the university’s city or their hometowns to improve some aspects of life of the city or their own town. (For example, students may help local primary school children with their homework.) Which one do you think is more beneficial for students in their university? Why? Give detailed examples and reasons. Use your OWN words, do NOT use memorized examples.

In the modern era, academic life is involved with practical aspects that are beneficial to the society. Students prefer to have occupations related to their majors, and not all of them are successful in this issue. The controversial question which arises here is that what strategy a student must follow in addition to the university assignments in their free time that can help them excel in the job interviews? Some people believe that encouraging students to do irrelevant tasks like fine arts results in a boom in their social performance, but on the contrary, the opponents believe that the volunteer tasks during the student period must be beneficial for their society. I convict that the latter is a rational choice. Many reasons support my thesis, two of which will be discussed in follows.

First and foremost, students passing entrance exams choose their major in order to be beneficial to their society. They plan to excel in the entrance exam and dwell on the best majors in the university. It is undeniable that they try to have the most efficient service for their society. To shed light on this explanation, research shows that 70 percent of Iranian students in undergraduate programs apply for internships in companies in summers and try to be practical in this manner. So doing a particular task for the society parallel to university is a more rational choice for them. As a result, students get more and more experienced in their fields and appear more confident in job interviews.

Additionally, forcing the students to take part in jobs that are not relevant to their studies leads to a lack of efficiency, since their field of study seems impractical to them, and finally, they lose their confidence. To exemplify, in a research conducted by the psychology department by our university, students who do jobs that are not relevant to their field of study are inclined to addiction and depression, and they get inefficient in their studies. All of them encourage us to let them be beneficial to the society in the direction of their talents.

To be concise, letting students do their additional tasks in their own town makes them stronger in identity and self-confidence and finally makes them successful in job interviews. Besides, in case students do tasks irrelevant to their majors, it leads them into mental health problems. So the best choice is to let them independently serve the society in their fields.