A teacher’s ability to relate well with students is more important than excellent knowledge
of the subject being taught.
I disagree with the idea that the possessing the ability to relate well with student is more
important than excellent knowledge of the subject being taught for a teacher. There are several
reasons why I disagree with that idea.
First, teachers’ job is to educate their student with their knowledge. The ability to relate well
with their student is something a counselor should possess, not a teacher.
That’s why the board of education gives an award to a teacher with an excellent knowledge of
the subject they teach. Teachers who can get along with their students but have no knowledge
can be popular and be liked by his or her students, however I don’t consider a teacher with no
knowledge a good teacher.
Second, Students go to schools because they want to learn knowledge from their teachers not to
get along with their teachers. I knew a math teacher who was well known among other
mathematics teachers. Some students always complained how he never entertains his students
which made many of his students to fall asleep. Nevertheless, all of his classes were all full even
before the semester began because many students who were eager to learn already booked in. He
won the Apples prize (it’s given to a noticed teacher annually) a couple of times and that enabled
students to firmly believe in his way of teaching.
Thirdly, teachers are responsible for conceding their knowledge to their next generation.
Teachers already had an experience of getting advantaged education from college. Teachers
should not let that previlege become useless and workless. We all learn because we want to
become the better person that this world needs. Students will also eventually grow up to be
influencing other people and teachers should volunteerily be their students’ role models.
For conclusion, I think the most important quality a teacher must have is an excellent knowledge
of the subject they teach, not an ability to relate well with their students.