Teachers should give primary children (aged 5-10) assignments less than 30 minutes, because they have enough instructions in regular school classes. Do you agree or disagree?

It is hart to deny that the competition among the young generation increases rapidly, and such a fact lead impressionable parents and teachers to push their children so hard from a young age. However, it suffers from practical and factual fallacies. As far as the time management, learning interest are concerned, it is an extremely good idea to lessen the assignments of primary children, like less than 30 minutes.

To begin with, too much homework chills the interest and defeat the progress of the young students. As we all have grown up from a little child, we all know how defensive we were to the assignments at that age. The memory of dealing with maths problems while crying as a first year student in primary school is still vivd in my mind. At that time, what maths, English words, and charaters to me was what sunshine to the vampires, because teachers then left so much homework for us that it became a huge burden for me both mentally and physically. It took me a long time to find my interest in study back until I gradually adapted to the tight schedule, despite I was only seven.

Furthermore, less homework time allows children to learn other useful skills. Look at what those kids learn in class--basic methods, such as alphabet and "one plus one is two". Doing more assighments on these kind of things is totally a waste of time. Primary children are in a period where their are developing rapidly both mentally and physically. Learning something new, like a new instrument and a new sport, is no more than a breeze for them. It is just the right time to explore the new world in person by various of ways, instead of enhancing studies that have alread been introduced by teachers in class over and over again.

Addimitedly, as an old saying goes, practice makes things perfect. However, children at that age should do their pratice on other meaningful things such as piano and violin. Also, practicing on boring homework diminishes their enthusiasm for study. Therefore, I definitely hold that assighment time should be limited to less than half an hour.