Television, newspapers and magazines are too focused on the lives of famous people. Discuss this statement giving reasons and examples to support your opinion.

Some people argue that media are too celebrity centric. However, I feel that the focus on celebrities is due to public demand and is more or less equal to the media's focus on other walks too. I shall explain my stance in two main points.

Firstly, newspapers have specific sections that include news from different areas such as business, politics, sports, entertainment etecetra. It is the top people from each field that make news and since they make news they are famous. Thus, it is obvious that famous people will be broadcasted in newspapers. Also, it is us that have given such people a status called "famous". Holding the media responsible for the status given by us is preposterous and in a way double standard.

Moreover, it is the people who come on television and become famous, not the other way round. For example, a news channel talking about the owner of a new start up may not be big news at first. However, if that startup becomes a hit amongst the crowd and then if a news channel broadcasts an interview with its owner, the same news will now be huge. This happens because more number of people become interested in knowing how that owner made it big. Initially, no one paid heed to what the owner was talking about. Thus, it is the deeds of the a person that make him famous and it is us public who wants to know more about that person thereby giving the media an insight to gather mpre information about his life.

Finally, the situation of whether or not the media is too focused on lives of famous people is complex. Some people may still feel that so much status is unnecessary. Nevertheless I feel that the media is also a money making industry and news is what we as people are intersted in and therefore if it is famous people, so be it.