Think critically about the following statement.

A universal language should replace all languages. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of a universal language.

Language is the most important method used by humans to communicate. Whether written or spoken, its purpose is to convey thoughts and feelings among humanity. However, sometimes it can be a barrier to express ourselves and interference in mutual understanding because of the idiomatic variants existing in the world. Therefore, some people may support having a universal language. It is indeed a controversial topic. The truth is that having a global idiom has its advantages and disadvantages.

One evident benefit of speaking one only language is that communication would be easier. There will not be obstacles when exchanging ideas among people from different nations. Hence, traveling might seem more appealing since we are able to understand and know better citizens from other regions. Another advantage would be the economic growth. There would be an expanded international trade among countries. Investments from foreign markets would increase leading to the economic development of the world.

On the other hand, there are obvious disadvantages of having one single idiom. Firstly, it would mean the destruction of many dialects along with the culture and history they represent such as Latin and Arabian. Every language has its own beauty and portrays the lifestyle of diverse civilizations. Implementing one global language will bring about the loss of national identity. People will forget their roots and traditions .Another drawback could be that some professionals might be affected since they make a living out of the variety of languages. I am referring to translators and interpreters. There would not be jobs for them.

To sum up, establishing a universal idiom has its pros and cons. I personally support the diversity of cultures. I cannot feel prouder of being Latina and speaking Spanish as my modern tongue even when English has been globalized as the universal language. I cannot deny where I come from. If so, it would be disrespect my ancestors heritage and my origin. For that reason, I don’t think that having a global language is a worthwhile idea.