Today students are more interested in politics than the past. Do you agree or disagree?

Time flies leading to the inconsistent modification in awareness as to how students approach learning politics. Statements abound that children love to immerse themselves into the perspective of political issues. In my view, students are no longer interested in politics in the light of myriad distinct subjects appealing to young learners and the non-core influence of politics.

To begin with, there is no doubt that diversity of academic subjects will decline the attractiveness of politics in school. Since children nowadays prefer to learn something that is able to trigger their critical thinking or develop their imagination and creativity; therefore, the sciences and the arts are likely to suit students from this aspect. On the other hand, politics is a kind of abstract subject that only requires learners to memorize, hence, it is incredibly boring to absorb. For example, in my school, most required subjects are studied in a positive way except for politics. According to the student’s explanation, they state that they relish the constant changing in knowledge than the particular formal one.

Another element sparking politics unattractive is its poor application into reality. The development of a country nowadays depends on technology and agriculture; therefore, most students focus on stem subjects in order to land a stable or high-paid job in future. Meanwhile, politics expresses information regarding how the government was formed and operated for thousands of years, which is such a waste of time for further research. In addition, deeply digging into politics is unrealistic because the correlation of politics with other sectors is loose, leading to the limitation in applying to address interrelated problems as well as the fewer chances gained to enlarge learners’ knowledge. As a result, students are not interested in politics like in the past.

In the end, students no longer enjoy learning knowledge relating to the political field.