Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Friendship is one of the crucial factors in human life since it gives people meaningful memories and experiences. However, there are two stereotypes about whether people should keep on with a small group of friends over a long period or gain the chance to make new friends. I, as a fervent advocate of long-term friendship, assure that the ability to preserve it is relatively precious.

To begin with, a small group of intimate friends who accompany a person for long is always supportive to lend a helping hand in need. It is because they have been with an individual in mostly struggling moments in life and together experienced ups and downs leading to the understanding for the other in every single situation. Therefore, they are willing to not only financially support when their true friends are in trouble, they also give sound advice in order to make a person become better. Moreover, not everyone is able to help others without any measurement except for the closest friends. A life-long time unveils the value of a person; most people believe that their best friends go so far as to be supportive without hesitation and obviously they never turn their back in every situation. On the other hand, a new friend is not truthful enough to lean on. Take my problem as an example, when I was in high school, I sometimes did weird actions like making noise in class; therefore, I usually made a bad impression on the teacher, which constrained my ability to interact. Fortunately, my best soulmate bravely addressed my adverse manner and told me how to fix it. He sincerely wished to see me better.

Furthermore, intimate friends make people feel happy and become more open in mind when staying with them. To be more accurate, best friends have the same in common since working and studying together for a while; therefore, they are able to feel any fluctuations in feeling of their soul mates from which they can intervene on time to balance their best friend’s emotions. Furthermore, people can freely express all of their thoughts without being embarrassed from their private story to an ambitious dream that is really priceless in each relationship. The reverse, however, is true when an individual is with another new friend. It is always uncomfortable when having a conversation with new friends inasmuch as people have to create a good impression and politeness, which deters people from expressing their true self. This suggests that people cannot live with the true valuable things if there is the presence of new people.

In the end, if having a chance to choose, preserving a long-term friendship is more reasonable.