TOEFL essay: It has recently been announced that large shopping center may be built in your neighborhood. Do you support or oppose this plan? Why? Use specific reasons and details to support your answer.

Essay topics

There are many things that need to be considered while constructing mall in any part of the city. I strongly oppose constructing mall in my hometown. There are several reasons for this which I will explore in following essay.

First of all, shopping complexes and malls are usual hangout places for friends and families. Some people go to mall just for spending time even if they do not have anything to shop. As a result, these places will be crowded most of the time. It agitates the serenity in my place. In addition to this, more crowd will lead to increased traffic problems, air pollution and noise pollution. A shopping mall which opened two years ago in my hometown is a compelling example for this. It was very big and had almost all kinds of stores inside it. It attracted enormous amount of people around my city. They threw paper, plastic and other wastes in and around the mall. Surrounding area of mall was always inundated with vehicals. Their constant honking and continuous noise perturbed the residents around the mall.

Second, as I mentioned before shopping malls usually have variety of stores. Even though, it is true that one can get all the things under same roof, it will have negetive impacts on small local shopkeepers. These are the people who run their shops not because they want to become rich but to make thier living. If shopping mall is opened in their locality then it takes majority of market share and they will have to eventually close thier shop. I would like to take the example of same shopping mall that I mentioned earlier. Local shop keepers were taken aback by how shopping malls attracted their consumers. Many of small shop keepers moved out of town and others started searching for new job. Their family struggled alot until they found new job. It was even worse for some of them because they didn't know any other occupation and because of dependancy they could not migrate. For this reason I oppose opening shopping mall in my residency.

Finally, it is true that shopping malls provide job opportunities and make the shopping easier, we cannot undermine the negetive impacts that it will have on people. Also, items in big shopoping malls are way more costlier compared to that of small shops. In addition to this, shopping in malls will tempt an individual to buy unnecessary things. As a result one will end up spending more money. Small shops on the other hand, restricts the coice of items and wouldn't encourage us to buy unnecessary items.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that opening a shopping mall in my locality is not a good idea. This is because it will create traffic problems, increases air and noise pollution and small shop keepers will have to find an alternative for leading their lives.