TOEFL essay: Many people visit museums when they travel to new places. Why do you think people visit museums? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Every place have the certain kinds of museums and most of the people always reach the museums when they travel to new places. Why people visit the museums? They express disparate opinions on this. From my perspective, we have the various reasons and some important reasons are as follows.

First, the museum are based on the local culture and traditions, when people visit in that place, then they easily know about the culture of local people. For instance, take the museum of Pokhara, in which the Gurung museum is totally based on the culture of the Gurung’s people and most of the tourist visit in that museum to know the culture of the Gurung’s people.

Second, not only the culture, to understand and know about the history is another reason of visiting. Many museums are set up according to the history of the nation. When people visit that, the museum provide the deep knowledge of the history of that nation. For example, from the data, the national museum of Kathmandu-capital city of Nepal, was visited that foreigner who were interested to know about the Nepal’s history. The components of that museum truly provided the information of the history of Nepal.

Third, we can get entertainment from the museum and our time can be passed easily when we enter into a museum. The recorded data and old artifacts certainly provides the entertainment. As a result, many people visit the museum only for entertainment. For instance, let take the example of Mountain museum in Pokhara, the mountain scenery was appealing drawing in that museum and the tool used by the climbers, also provided additional entertainment that every people do not forget to reach the museum when they arrived in Pokhara for visiting.

In conclusion, we have several reasons to enter the museum and in my opinion, the above reason are the most important reason to visit the museum.