TOEFL Independant

Nowadays, internet is vital part of our lives and therefore it should not be forbidden for new generations to use it, but it should be controlled in a way.

I believe that parents should allow their kids the use of cellphones, in order to keep in touch with family, friends, be informed and as an academic and research tool. Smart phones are part of our daily lives and will be for a long time, whether we want it or not. Internet, Google, social media, apps, etc. have changed they way we live and the way we work and study. Our mothers and fathers should be able to understand this transition and let youngsters make usage of this easy internet access. This tool can be a good way to comunicate with them when needed and in cases of emergency . It is also a good way to be informed about what happens in our communities, countries and in the world. Additionally, it is the best way to find information in an academic setting such as primary and secondary school.

Nevertheless, I think there are times and places more appropiate than others for the use of these gadgets. For example, kids should be forbidden to use their phones for chatting and navigating on the internet while having a family dinner. Since this moment is a time to disconnect to the web and connect with our loved ones, it is not a good time to enter Facebook. Another example is to give smartphones a bad usage when children are studying, like cheating on a exam or copy an essay. Parents should teach their little ones to be responsible with their actions regarding the devices. There should be a limit with the amount of time they spend plugged.

In conclusion, sooner or later, young children will be able to have access to the internet and own smart phones. So, the best way to educate future children to be responsible of this, is to do it earlier on.