TOEFL Independent Essay - Do you agree or disagree with : Playing computer games is a waste of time. It should not be allowed for children.

In this modern age of electronics, computer games have no longer remained a novelty but rather have become a new normal for children. This is so because they have been exposed to the digital world right from a very young age through smart phones, tablets, TVs, etc. And I disagree that time spent on playing these games is wasted because of the reasons stated below.

Computer games are very different than other hobbies a child might have like reading a book or watching a movie. This is because it requires the child's brain to focus at the task in hand and complete it successfully. Children are usually dependent on their parents to help them to get out of a situation in which they are stuck. In computer games, the child has to complete several missions on his own to get to the next level. Thus they teach him to become more independent and self-reliable. Also solving missions and tackling all the problems in a game is a way to boost the child's confidence and self-esteem, which will definitely be visible in other areas of his life. Also computer games are designed in such a way that you are totally engrossed throughout the game. Studies have shown that a person playing a game regularly in a controlled time-span has more focus than before. Heightened focus and concentration will help children in excelling at other area like academics or sports. Online gaming gives you a chance to connect with anyone in the entire world. The other day, I saw my niece, who is just fifteen by the way, playing online chess with Vidhut Gujrathi, a well-known and prominent chess player of India from her home computer.

Also secondly, these games acts as an escape from all the academic work and other things that every child has to go through. They are a fun way to spend time at home especially when the child is restricted from going outside due to some reason. Some online games provide an option to play with friends just by sitting at home. This is very refreshing when say, people are all stuck at homes due to the current ongoing Covid pandemic. Playing these games are a sort of distraction for the children and also a means to get connected with their friends.

Thus to conclude playing computer games does not always mean that a child's time is being wasted. In fact, doing so in a controlled, limited manner will actually help to develop a child's mind, tackle problems, increased focus and also provide a chance to connect with anyone across the globe.