At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support.

I personally believe that Sports and Social Activities should receive equal financial support from Colleges or Universities. This is mainly because of the following three

reasons.

First reason is that a College or an University seems incomplete if it has no ongoing Sports Events or Social Activities. In midst of all the academic activities and studying, sport events and other activities are a breath of fresh air. Even if some of the students do not participate in these Activities, they might be found spending quality time in bonding with their classmates while say cheering for their College Team or their favorite participant. This will help the students to get acquainted with not only their classmates but also with the other students in the College. Social Activities do bring students together and create memorable moments for life. An example for this is, when I was in College, we used to eagerly wait for our 'DanceFest' (short for Dance Festival) , in which various colleges in the City would participate in a not so friendly Dance Competition. And judging from the passion and enthusiasm of students towards this Festival it was clearly the highlight of our College year and no amount of studying could top it.

Also secondly a good Sports Programme can attract a lot of investors to sponsor the particular team. This would result in a considerable profit for the College and it could be utilised in any other financial needs the college has. My brother's college is a perfect example for this. His College's Soccer Team was sponsored by a very big Sports Shoes Company and in turn the College received huge endorsements which it later used to expand the Physics Laboratory.

The last reason is that if students are involved in organizing the Sports Activities and various other Social Events, they are likely to develop leadership and organisational skills which are hard to develop in a controlled classroom space. This will help in their overall development.

So, to conclude Colleges and Universities should equally support all the extra-curricular activities along with the regular academic activities. This is because it will help in creating a sense of unity among the students while also developing their skills. These skills will definitely help in making the student ready to face the outside world.