Do you Agree or Disagree with : It is important for students to learn ideas and concepts rather than learn facts.

It is critically important that students always keep on learning new things. Personally I believe students should focus more on learning ideas and concepts. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, ideas and concepts stick around with us longer. Human brain has a tendency to forget or discard thoughts if it does not fully understand what they mean. In contrast, if we support the thoughts with a well-formed explanation of why it is so, our brain can comprehend the thing faster and make it easier to remember. As a result, students can actually be able to use what they learnt even in sometime in the future. My personal experience is a compelling illustration for this. When I was in high school almost seven years ago, for an important Chemistry exam, I simply memorized the entire Periodic table without knowing the significance of the elements in it or why an element was placed at a particular spot. I had memorized only the facts, so when the Chemistry question paper had a tricky question on the position of the elements, I could not solve it. Had I focused more on what goes behind the facts and get a deeper understanding of the Periodic table, I would not be in this situation.

Furthermore, only learning will not do any good if a student has no idea about its application. To apply the acquired knowledge in our daily life is the ultimate goal of learning new things. For instance, a student might know that apple is a fruit. But what good it is if he cannot recognise the apple in a supermarket. The other day, my nephew was very excited to tell me what he learnt in History class that day. The lecturer went over how the barter system was slowly evolved and replaced with the actual money we use today. Before this lecture, he knew that money is used for trading, but how and why this process came into existence shed a new light on its importance. And consequently, he uses this knowledge now to place bets with me on which Sports Team will win the match but involving chocolates instead of money.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that learning the main ideas and the concepts behind them is more essential for students. This is because learning the concepts behind the idea embeds it for an extended period in the mind and also students get to apply it whenever the situation demands.