TPO-01 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support.Use specific reaso

Though sports and social activites play a great role improving students interpersonal skills, students come to universities to gain knowledge in their academic subjects. Therfore I disagree with the statement that equal finances should be given to sports in comparision with finances given to education. My points to why I disagree to the above statement follows in next paragraphs.

The first reason why students come to colleges is for studying where as sports or social activities are provided to them to support them, improving their physical fitness or interpersonal skills. Providing equal finances to sports and social activities in comparision with finances to that of classes and libraries potrays that universities and colleges are not giving high importence to studies. In my opinion extra curricular activities can be given equal importence but not equal financial support. For an example a student comes to college that provides him education in his field of interests like science, mathematics, engilsh or arts etc. Universities should spend their finances towards providing good staff, more number of library books etc so that student can have goo education from the univerity. Instead if the college provides equal finances to other facilities, finances needed to improve educational standards reduces.

Another reason why i disagree with the statement is that students doesnot give importance to studies if colleges itself doesnot give high importance to education. For an example if we give less importance to our cultures at home , then our children too will follow us giving less respect to our cultures and furthur one day we cannot blame them for not following our traditions as we itself doesn't follow them. Similarly if university management itself doesn't give high importance to education students will be diverted from their goals in education.

Lastly , if student wants to improve his skills in sports or social activites and take up a career in those fields, there will be schools that give exclusive education in those skills. In such scholls highest priority will be given to sports or extra curricular activites than that in acadimic subjects. We see some retired sportsmen like Sachin, Pullel Gopichand open their sports acadmies for students who want to choose sports as their careers.

To sum up, universities and colleges that provide acedemic education should concentrate more on providing good education to children and spend good amount of finances towards education.This doenot mean to neglect sports or other extra curricular activites but to give education first priority.