TPO-01 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support.Use specific reaso

There is a great controversial debate in most colleges towards allocation of financial resources. This has been a lingering issue for decades. While an overwhelming majority supports that the university should fully support classes and libraries as it is the primary purpose of the college, others may take an opposing view. I, definitely subscribe that colleges should equally distribute financial resources to both classes and sports and social activities.

The first reason is that students can create an academic-life balance. It is undoubtedly to dismiss the immense necessity of sports and social activities in the lives of students. These extra-curricular activities create a great opportunity for students to perform excellently in academics, increase their social relationships among students and even among their teachers,to mention but not the least, it invariably reduces stress and depression. A noteworthy recent survey conducted at the University of Washington on the relevance of sports and its effects on students' academic performance. The result depicted a remarkable and phenomenal performance in students who enrolled in one sports activities or the other. Hence, the results stemming from this reliable research compelled the university administration to create an avenue for students to participate in wide range of sports.

Secondly, students who engage in sports or social activities can discover their talents out of serendipity. Although, this may not sound plausible, it is irrefutably true. Some students have discovered their talents while engaging in some sports or social activity. My own experience is a compelling example. Back in my school days, I had a roommate who was actively engaged with the college basketball. He became enthusiastic and developed great and indomitable skills. This propelled him to join other basketball teams outside of the college. Shortly after college, he joined the Lakers team of Los Angeles in the National basketball Association(NBA). He was recognized by the NBA as the most unbeatable, tactful and defensive player for years.

In conclusion, based on the aforementioned reasons stated above, it is absolutely paramount that universities should financially support sports and other social activities as same as classes and libraries due to the highly indispensable value of these activities in students life.