TPO 01 Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement At universities and colleges sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support Use specific reaso

Universities are known as a place to improve students’ acknowledge in various aspects and prepare them to enter society in order to find their passionate job. Besides, sports and social activities role as an inseparable part of individuals especially the young ones attending universities. As students get busier dealing with their courses, It gets harder to save time for their mental and physical health. We should remind that adequate physical condition can also boost mental health and stability which is needed these days, especially for students who are probably under a lot of pressure. To elaborate on my perspective, I believe universities should consider social activities as much as academic departments.

Universities and colleges can be determinants for students' social life and can evaluate their social networking and team working skills. This can be mentioned as another reason to support my viewpoint. While students are enhancing their knowledge through studying, they can be exposed to soft skills like communication by joining college sports teams and learning contact with others, and improving their relations with their teammates which could be beneficial for future of students working life. University campuses usually have some related teams where students can join and cooperate with each other for a project or share their ideas on an issue. These collaborative activities push students to pair or small groups working to discuss problems and come up with solutions for their challenges. This way, students progress in both academic and communicative skills simultaneously.

To achieve such needs, a part of every university campus budget should be spent on sports and social activities facilities as much as classes and libraries. The money could be utilized to build sports gyms and supply equipment for students’ physical exercises. The more they care about the improvement of the facilities, the more students are encouraged to take part in activities. From my own experience, back at high school, there was a well-equipped gym that our school principal had arranged for us to use which was a true enjoyment for me and I was enthusiastic about heading up there and doing some workouts.

To conclude, contrary to the idea of many people assume that much attention should not be paid to social activities in universities, I presume non-academic activities are as important as academic ones and they should be considered major fields for students.